2016 · June · Wrap-Ups

Top 5 Favourite Books So Far This Year

So.
It’s June 30th.
I feel as if I sat here a year ago wondering where the year had gone, and now I’m there again. I wanted to make one of these lists, even though I haven’t read that much for fun this year. However, there are some books that I read for class that I really liked, so I might include some of them too.

(This list is in no particular order).

1. The Arrival, by Shaun Tan
This is one of those books that I read for class, though I would probably have picked it up on my own sooner or later as our teacher spoke very highly about it. It’s a graphic novel (picture book?) without words about a man who moves to a new country to make a better life for himself and his family. It’s a beautiful book, which says a lot about immigration and other important things.
Read it.

2. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
This is about Ari, who can’t swim and who isn’t good with words and who struggles with himself. It is also about Dante, who is the opposite of all those things. They become friends over learning how to swim. This book is wonderful. I wish it had existed when I was 15.

3. Night of Cake and Puppets, by Laini Taylor
This is the companion novella to the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series that I read last year, and it follows the first date of Zuzana and Mik. This is a cute love story, and that is why I like it.

4. Since You’ve Been Gone, by Morgan Matson
I didn’t expect to like this as much as I did. It’s a contemporary about Emily whose best friend Sloane disappears, leaving only a list with things for Em to do in her wake. Just as Night of Cake and Puppets, it is a cute love story which is perfect for summer. Also, I really liked the narrator of the audiobook.

(I might write a review for this).

5.  Farlig Midsommar, by Tove Jansson
I bought this almost a year ago, but I have been saving it to be able to read it over midsummer to be in the right mood for it. What I particularly liked about it was that all these weird things happen, and the Moomins just shrug and go with it. Even if their house was just flooded and they have to live on a floating theatre.

I could have put Markus Zuzak’s The Book Thief or Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling on here, but they were both rereads. And though I really liked them both, Harry Potter is such a given favourite that I didn’t want it to take up space from other books, and I didn’t like The Book Thief as much the first time around.

So there you have it. My top 5 so far this year and the first post on my rebooted book blog.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Favourite Books So Far This Year

Leave a Reply

