2016 · July · Reviews

Book Review: “Throne of Glass”, books 1-4

“The Assassin’s Blade” published in 2014 by Bloomsbury | Four Feathers
“Throne of Glass
” published in 2012 by Bloomsbury | Three feathers
“Crown of Midnight” published in 2013 by Bloomsbury | Three Feathers
“Heir of Fire” published in 2014 by Bloomsbury | Four Feathers
“Queen of Shadows” published in 2015 by Bloomsbury | Four Feathers

So.
I finally caught up on this series.
It really should be the type of series that I like, if I had been able to get around to it in my own time. As it was, I mostly read it because my friends kept going on about it, so I promised to have read the entire series by the time Empire of Storms is released it September so  that my friends would shut up about it.

In retrospect, I am glad that I read The Assassin’s Blade (the prequel novellas) before reading Throne of Glass, as the events of The Assassin’s Blade were referred to throughout the entire series. It also added another depth to Celaena’s character, which I appreciated knowing going into the series.

The series did get better as it went on, and I do think that Queen of Shadows is the best yet. I have heard that some people have problems with the characterization in Queen of Shadows, but I actually didn’t. I especially liked Celaena and Chaol’s relationship in it (I never shipped them anyway), in how they loved each other but still kept their distance. However, I do feel as if it took too long to get into the series. I didn’t think that Throne of Glass was that well-written, and it wasn’t entirely what I had expected. I had a certain idea of how the book would be after The Assassin’s Blade, but it didn’t feel as if Throne of Glass followed that line. Also, I initially rated Crown of Midnight four stars on Goodreads, but later lowered that rating because I couldn’t remember what it was about. I still cannot remember the plot, and it’s only been around two months since I read it, so I feel as if I should remember. Heir of Fire and the first half of Queen of Shadows were pretty much only build-up for what is to come, so it took me a while to get through them.

As it looks right now, I will finish this series off. It’s not a bad series. It’s just that I might have liked it better if I had gotten around to it in my own time.

One thought on “Book Review: “Throne of Glass”, books 1-4

Leave a Reply

