2016 · June · Reviews

Book Review: “Since You’ve Been Gone”, by Morgan Matson

Published in 2014 by Audible Audio | Physical book published in 2014 by Simon & Schuster | 4.5 stars

Does anyone else mentally start singing the Kelly Clarkson song when you hear the title?

If you didn’t until now, you’re welcome 😉

Summary:

Emily has been best friends with Sloane ever since they accidentally ran into each other two years ago. Then one day, Sloane disappears without a trace. Her house is empty. She doesn’t answer her phone. She didn’t even leave a note. Until a list shows up in the mail two weeks after Sloane’s disappearance, with 13 things for Emily to do. So Emily decides to do every single thing on the list, because it might get Sloane back.

Review:

I was surprised by how much I liked this book. And I’m not entirely sure why. The thing is though, that this is a very cosy contemporary book. It’s perfect for summer.

I think that part of that surprise might have to do with the fact that I listened to this on audiobook, and the audiobook was great. Many people might have a problem with the narrator as her voice might come across as a bit self-important. However, I think she was perfect, and it is probably a contributing factor to why I liked Since You’ve Been Gone so much.

Another thing is that the back cover pretty much spoils the entire story. The description on the back is literally what you get. Then again, you get to follow Emily as she winds her way between the various things on the list, how she ends up doing everything and what the connection between each listed thing is.

Since You’ve Been Gone is slightly reminiscent of John Green’s Paper Towns, which I read last summer and liked a lot as well. I didn’t even make the connection until I described the former to my sister, and she said “oh, it almost sounds a little like Paper Towns!”. She definitely has a point. The storylines of both books are different, and Since You’ve Been Gone doesn’t have the pretentiousness that tend to be part of John Green’s books, but it has more to do with the feel of the story.

This turned into a very long review. I didn’t know I had that much to say. Then again, maybe I shouldn’t be surprised.

One thought on “Book Review: “Since You’ve Been Gone”, by Morgan Matson

Leave a Reply

