2016 · August · Reviews

Book Review: “The Raven King”, by Maggie Stiefvater

Published in 2016 by Scholastic UK | 3 feathers

Summary from Goodreads:

“Nothing living is safe. Nothing dead is to be trusted.

For years, Gansey has been on a quest to find a lost king. One by one, he’s drawn others into this quest: Ronan, who steals from dreams; Adam, whose life is no longer his own; Noah, whose life is no longer a lie; and Blue, who loves Gansey… and is certain she is destined to kill him.

Now the endgame has begun. Dreams and nightmares are converging. Love and loss are inseparable. And the quest refuses to be pinned to a path.”

Review:
*Spoilers ahead*

I was going to write a review on the entire series, but I didn’t take notes while reading the other books, and now I forgot all the details regarding my thoughts on them, so I’ll keep it to this one.

I had high hopes for this, because I enjoyed books #2 and #3 quite a bit. And there were parts that I liked a lot – the language being one of them, the weirdness being another. Also, it was kind of creepy at times, especially concerning Noah. And I liked how close Blue was to her family and how big a part they had in the book.

However, there were parts that I didn’t enjoy as much. Firstly, it was occasionally too confusing, to the point where I didn’t fully understand what was going on. And secondly, I can’t help but feel slightly disappointed, mainly because there was no real wrapping up. Stiefvater really showed us what happened to Adam, and she pretty much told us what happened to the rest of the gang. But what about Maura and the other psychics of 300 Fox Way? Or the Grey Man? They were so integral to the story that I wanted to know what happened to them too. And what about Gwen? Did she continue living at 300 Fox Way? This made it kind of obvious that there is going to be a spin-off series about Ronan, and since I knew this while reading The Raven King, it felt as if Stiefvater intentionally left some things unanswered for people to read the spin-off as well. But I wanted answers here and now – this is one series, the Ronan spin-off is another.

I am also kind of disappointed that Glendower was dead when they found him. The entire story had built up towards that moment, and then he was suddenly dead. Like, what was that even? And Gansey didn’t even really die. He was dead for, what, two seconds before they woke him up again?

I really wanted to like this more than I did, but it didn’t really work out for me. So, in the end, I rated it 3 out of 5 feathers.

Leave a Reply

