2016 · Reviews · September

Book Review: “Open Road Summer”, by Emery Lord

Published in 2014 by Walker Children’s | Audiobook read by Rebecca Gibel for Audible Audio, 2014 | Three feathers

Summary from Goodreads:

After breaking up with her bad-news boyfriend, Reagan O’Neill is ready to leave her rebellious ways behind. . . and her best friend, country superstar Lilah Montgomery, is nursing a broken heart of her own.

Fortunately, Lilah’s 24-city tour is about to kick off, offering a perfect opportunity for a girls-only summer of break-up ballads and healing hearts. But when Matt Finch joins the tour as its opening act, his boy-next-door charm proves difficult for Reagan to resist, despite her vow to live a drama-free existence.

This summer, Reagan and Lilah will navigate the ups and downs of fame and friendship as they come to see that giving your heart to the right person is always a risk worth taking.

Review:

I listened to this on audiobook, and downloaded it because my credit renewed and I felt like listening to something light and fluffy. Which is exactly what I got. This is a contemporary perfect for summer.

I liked Reagan and Dee’s friendship, and how that took up such a big part of the story. It wasn’t only about the romance (which was quite a big part of the plot as well), but about how important your friends are. I also liked Reagan’s no-nonsense attitude and how she was determined to take no shit.

However, she was so jealous of anyone who wasn’t Dee or Matt, and was also at times a bit childish. That is the main reason as to why I didn’t rate this book higher. (Though it was kind of funny with the tow truck, even if it was mean). Also, this book was so cheesy. The author made such a point of how Reagan used to be the bad girl, but now she had gotten out of that and reached some profound conclusions about life. It might seem a bit strange that I criticize the book for trying to be profound when I really like John Green’s books, which I know have a tendency to be very pretentious. There is a fine line between cheesiness and something that works – for me, John Green’s books work, while Open Road Summer crossed way into the cheesy field. So that’s the other reason I gave this three stars.

On the whole, I enjoyed this. It didn’t blow me away or anything, but it was exactly what I was looking for when I downloaded it.

Leave a Reply

