2016 · Currently Reading · September

Currently Reading

I haven’t finished any books recently that I felt that I had enough thoughts on to write an entire review, so I got the idea to do a “currently reading”-post. Usually, I only read one book at a time, but now I have found that I’m reading three. So I thought I’d share my thoughts on them so far.

  • Empire of Storms, by Sarah J. Maas.

This is the fifth book in the Throne of Glass series, and my focus at the moment. I started this series because my friends wouldn’t shut up about it, and now there’s only this and one book left in the series so I might as well finish it off. Some people seem to think that the series gets worse over time and that it’s not the same series as it was in the first two books. I disagree with the first statement, but I can see the point in the second. I wasn’t too keen on the first two books, because I read The Assassin’s Blade first and then the series took a different turn than I had expected (not that I know what I had expected, but still). Queen of Shadows is the best yet, but Empire of Storms might just beat it.

I’ve read about 40% of this so far, and am hoping to reach the half-way point today.

  • The Watchmaker of Filigree Street, by Natasha Pulley

This is my new audiobook. I’m only on chapter two, so I don’t have that much to say about it at the moment. I do find it a bit confusing though, so we’ll see how that goes.

  • Uprooted, by Naomi Novik

I’ve been reading this book since early July and got around 1/3 of the way through before I felt that I wasn’t feeling like reading it right then, so I put it on hold. Then I picked it up again, read two chapters and now it’s on hold again because I decided to focus on Empire of Storms instead. I’m not having the best of luck with Uprooted, but I’m determined to finish it.

I’ve read 35% of this, according to Goodreads.

  • The Diviners, by Libba Bray

Speking of things on hold, I might as well mention this book as well as a parenthesis, as I’m not actively reading this at the moment. This is another one that I’ve been “reading” for way too long – I started it in June, read 240 pages of it and then put it away. It was just so slow – to the extent that it never felt as if I was getting anywhere with it. I wanted to read something quicker, something that I felt that I would actually finish. I will probably finish The Diviners at some point, just probably not before I go to England as I had originally planned.

Leave a Reply

