2016 · Films · October · Reviews

Film Review: “Brooklyn”

2015 | Directed by John Crowley | Three Feathers

True to my word, here I am with my first film review! Please bear with me if this isn’t very good.

Summary:

This is about Eilis, a young Irish girl who is sent to America to work. But a family tragedy calls her back to Ireland, and she has to choose between her two lives.

Review:

I had such high hopes for this. It seemed exactly like the type of movie I would really enjoy. But then I missed it when the cinemas showed it, because it went down after less than a month, so I was really happy when I found it on Netflix after I moved to England to study.

However, I can’t help but feel a little bit disappointed. The film is almost two hours long, and still it lacks something vital. Perhaps it’s missing a little bit of emotional depth when she meets the Irish guy – it’s obvious that she really likes him, but at the same time she doesn’t seem to have any qualms about just leaving and only saying goodbye through a note. Also, the ending was so sudden. There was no real feeling of wrapping up – instead, it just ended. So despite its length, it could have benefited from being slightly longer, just to give the plot space to wrap everything up properly.

I did love the setting, though – 1950s New York. I wish we could have seen more of it. On the same note, the costumes were great, especially Eilis’ clothes (though I couldn’t stop giggling at those sunglasses).

2 thoughts on “Film Review: “Brooklyn”

Leave a Reply

