2016 · November · Reviews

Book Review: “Slasher Girls and Monster Boys”

Published in 2014 by Dial Books | Edited by April Genevieve Tucholke | Three Feathers

Summary:

This is an anthology consisting of a bunch of horror short stories written by a variety of authors.

Review:

This is the latest audiobook I finished. There were some stories that I thought were better and more creepy than others – for example, the first two, The Birds of Azalea Street by Nova Ren Suma, and In the Forest Dark and Deep by Carrie Ryan were pretty good.

However, I grew a bit tired of it in the long run. While I wouldn’t say that the stories became repetitive, the collection did become a bit long-winded, and in the end I just wanted it to be finished so that I could move on to something else. This is the biggest reason as to why I didn’t rate it higher – it failed to be good enough to keep my attention throughout.

It was nice that each story had its own narrator, because it added a nice touch and helped in separating the stories. In the end, though, I just found the audiobook slightly annoying. It was something with the accents of the people reading – sure, they can’t help which accent they happen to have, but it was sort of too much of the same, which I think helped me grow a bit tired of it. It’s fine that they had people with American accents, but it would have been nice to have more people with different types of American accents.

So, overall, I just think this was okay. I think I was ultimately looking for something else, more along the lines of creepy, psychological horror, and this wasn’t it.

Leave a Reply

