2016 · Films · November · Reviews

Film Review: “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them”

2016 | Directed by David Yates | 5 feathers

Summary:

This is set in 1920s New York, and is the story of Newt Scamander, who travels around the wizarding world to find and save magical creatures.

Review:

Story time: my flatmates decided to go watch this in a couple of weeks, because that’s when they had time. But I decided that I didn’t want to wait that long to see it, so I ended up going alone on Sunday. And I am so glad that I did, because I loved this film so much! It made me so incredibly happy.

I honestly can’t think of that many things that I disliked about it, except possibly that some things don’t really make sense. But Rowling has promised on Twitter that it will be solved in the future Fantastic Beasts films, so I try to ignore that for now.

It really helped that this was its own thing, and that it didn’t seem to be trying to be anything else. That is what I feel is the difference between this and The Cursed Child – the latter is meant to be a part of the original series, but it doesn’t really fulfill that legacy. Fantastic Beasts, on the other hand, isn’t trying to be part of the Potter series; yes, it’s set in the Potterverse, but it isn’t actually a part of the original series. And I also think it helped that it isn’t truly based on anything, but is rather the background story to the Hogwarts schoolbook.

Another thing I loved about the film is Newt, the main character. He was so sweet and awkward and I just love him. Eddie Redmayne was the perfect choice to play the lead role.

If you ever get the chance and love the Potter series, just go watch this.

Leave a Reply

