2016 · December · Lists

It’s Christmas! <3

When this post goes up, it is December, which means it’s finally Christmas! Everyone who knows me, knows that I love Christmas and that it’s my absolute favourite holiday, so I thought I’d share some of my favourite Christmas/Winter-themed books and movies!

  • First out is The Polar Express, which is both a book and a movie. I know that some people find the film a bit creepy, but I love it. It’s about a boy who doesn’t really believe in Santa anymore, but then he’s picked up by a train (the Polar Express) and is whisked off to the North Pole.
    I think that they did a really good job of adapting this, because the entire book is in there. So be it that the book is a 25-page picture book, but they stayed close to the original illustrations and expanded the themes of the story, so I think the film stayed very true to the original. Plus, the book won the Caldecott Medal (which is a fancy prize for children’s lit), and Tom Hanks does several of the characters in the film.
  • Next up is a film called A Bride for Christmas. It’s not really that good – it’s one of those super-cheesy seasonal films that went directly to TV, and it’s not even that Christmassy. But I like it and try to make it a point of watching it every year.
  • I’m a bit late to the party, but last year I watched The Holiday for the first time. Someone described this as “that Hugh Grant film without Hugh Grant”, and that’s so true! This is one of those holiday classics that are still good.
  • This next one is more winter-themed, and it’s a book called The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey. It’s about a couple who live in Alaska, and one day they build a snow child from the first snow of the year. The next day, it’s gone, with footprints only leading away from the place where the snow child was… This is one of my favourite books!
  • Last out on this list is Let it Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle. I read this last year and thought it was okay – my favourite story was the one John Green wrote – but it’s a cosy Christmas-themed book! 🙂
Leave a Reply

