2016 · December · Reviews

Book Review: “Lips Touch”, by Laini Taylor

Published in 2013 by Hodder and Stoughton | Originally published in 2009 | Four feathers

Summary from Goodreads:

Three tales of supernatural love, each pivoting on a kiss that is no mere kiss, but an action with profound consequences for the kissers’ souls:

Goblin Fruit
In Victorian times, goblin men had only to offer young girls sumptuous fruits to tempt them to sell their souls. But what does it take to tempt today’s savvy girls?

Spicy Little Curses
A demon and the ambassador to Hell tussle over the soul of a beautiful English girl in India. Matters become complicated when she falls in love and decides to test her curse.

Hatchling
Six days before Esmé’s fourteenth birthday, her left eye turns from brown to blue. She little suspects what the change heralds, but her small safe life begins to unravel at once. What does the beautiful, fanged man want with her, and how is her fate connected to a mysterious race of demons?

Review:

Laini Taylor has become one of my favourite authors. I read the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy last year and loved it, and now I ordered this while in England because I felt like reading something else by her. And it did not disappoint.

I think my least favourite story in this one was the first one, and the one I liked the most was the middle one. I really liked the idea of somebody being the ambassador to Hell and having discussions with the “devil” over which souls get to live and which ones move on.

Also, I have been in a reading slump ever since the beginning of the summer and then I haven’t read that much over the autumn either because of moving to and studying in England for a few months, but this book got me more excited about reading again, which makes me really happy. So, fingers crossed, this might actually have gotten me out of my slump.

However, I do think that the last story deviated from the overall theme of the book a bit, because I can’t fully see how the kissing was important for that story. It was still good, though, and in the fantasy elements it was clearly part of the collection In that context, I would like to point out that the title doesn’t really reflect the contents – it’s not as much about kissing as the title suggests.

To sum up, I really enjoyed this, and now I’m happily looking forward to Strange the Dreamer being published in March next year!

One thought on “Book Review: “Lips Touch”, by Laini Taylor

Leave a Reply

