2016 · Favourites · Lists

My Top 7 Favourite Things I Read in 2016

I know this might seem a weird number, but I don’t feel as if I’ve read as much for fun as I usually do, especially not since some time during the early summer. That’s why I’m not doing a top 5 for July to December as I was intending – not only have I not read as much as usual, but I also haven’t really fallen head over heels for anything I’ve read during that time. So I thought that I’d just take my top 5 list from the first half of the year and add another couple of things to it and make that my top list of the year. This list is in no particular order.

  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

I liked this a lot when I first read it, but I think it has grown on me since then, so it definitely deserves its place on this list.

  • Farlig Midsommar, by Tove Jansson

If it’s one series that I’ve been really enjoying this year, it’s the Moomin series, and this is my favourite so far.
You can find my review of this here.

  • The Arrival, by Shaun Tan

This was such a beautiful, wordless graphic novel about a man who moves to a new country because his family is poor and can’t stay in their home country. It feels especially important nowadays. I also liked the fantasy elements, which you can either read literally or as a symbol for the strangeness of moving to an entirely new country (or both! 🙂  )

  • Night of Cake and Puppets, by Laini Taylor

I finished this right at the very beginning of the year, and included it because it’s a very cute love story.

  • Since You’ve Been Gone, by Morgan Matson

I didn’t expect to like this as much as I did, but I think it has to do with the audiobook being great and it being a very good book to read during the summer time.
Here’s my review for it.

  • Sent i November, by Tove Jansson

This is another Moomin book, which, again, I loved.
I wrote a review of this one too, which you can find here.

  • Lips Touch, by Laini Taylor

This is a pretty recent read – I finished it just last week – and though I didn’t like it as much as the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy, I did really enjoy it.
My review can be found here!

  • ‘Snow, Glass, Apples’, by Neil Gaiman

This is actually a short story, which I read because I read Gaiman’s short story collection Smoke and Mirrors. ‘Snow, Glass, Apples’ is one of the stories that really stuck with me, and I’ve realised now that I’ve gone over what I’ve read this year that this is so good. It’s a twisted story of Snow White, where the stepmother it the main character and Snow White the villain.

That’s it for the list! I have linked my reviews of the books I wrote reviews for, and if you want to check out my Top 5 January-June 2016, you can find it here. Also, Happy New Year!

3 thoughts on “My Top 7 Favourite Things I Read in 2016

  1. Absolutely love the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series By Laini Taylor (as well as the night of cake and puppets) and this post! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

