2017 · January · Lists · Tags

The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

So, tag post. This one is pretty old by now, but you know what they say – better late than never ^.^’ You can find the original YouTube video here.

1.A popular book or series that you didn’t like

I had to think a bit about this, but then I remembered that I disliked Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn when I read it a couple of years ago – I think it was partly to do with the fact that I accidentally read a spoiler on Facebook (why can’t some people just warn everyone else before spoiling the plot of things?), and then it didn’t end up being what I was expecting.

2. A book or series that everyone hates but you love

I don’t know… I don’t think I have any that really stands out. I kind of liked the Hush, Hush series by Becca Fitzpatrick, and I’ve heard people saying they didn’t like it, but all the books in the series are still rated 4 stars or higher on Goodreads. Also, my inner 14-year-old still really likes Twilight

3. A love triangle where the main character ends up with the person you didn’t want them to end up with or an OTP that you didn’t like

Haha, does Bella and Jacob count? It’s been almost eight (!!!) years since I read the entire series, but I remember really not wanting Bella to end up with Jake… Also, when I reread the Harry Potter series last winter/spring, I began shipping Hermione with Fred. I’m not entirely sure that I’m 100% on board with the Ron/Hermione thing. Oh, I have one more. *Spoiler alert*, but I have realised that I’m not totally shipping Celaena/Aelin with Rowan. I kind of did when I read Queen of Shadows during the summer, but now I’m a bit meh about that. For the record, I don’t ship her with anyone else either.

4. A popular book genre that you hardly reach for

Dystopian. For some reason, I’m not that big of a fan of dystopian books. I have no problems with “proper” science fiction, but there’s something about dystopians that just put me off a bit. I don’t read that much contemporary books either, but I read – and like – that genre more than dystopians.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like

Hmm… Jace from The Mortal Instruments? It might seem a bit contradictory, considering that I love Will from The Infernal Devices, but after the fourth book of TMI I was so tired of Jace that I almost dnf:ed the entire series. Also, Rowan might count here as well, but that’s just because I don’t ship him with Aelin…

6. A popular author you can’t seem to get into

V.E. Schwab maybe? I enjoyed Vicious because of the interesting concept, but didn’t like A Darker Shade of Magic as much and continuing on with that series is pretty low on my to read-list.

7. A popular trope you’re tired of seeing

That plain girl who doesn’t know she’s special but is actually really pretty and ends up saving the world. And then all the guys start liking her, so she ends up in a love triangle. As if she didn’t have enough to worry about. I wouldn’t mind a book where they changed that up a little bit.

8. A popular book or series you have no interest in reading

Maybe Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk. I wanted to read it, but ended up accidentally reading a spoiler online for this one as well that entirely killed it for me.

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

I haven’t watched this in several years and stopped after season three, but as far as I remember and based on what I have watched, The Vampire Diaries TV-show made a lot more sense than the books. Yes, they changed it a lot, but the book series just derailed somewhere along the way and I have yet to finish that one too.

Leave a Reply

