2017 · Films · January

Mashup Movies

This is a new series I’m going to try out on my blog, in which I write mini-reviews of films I’ve watched lately, but that I won’t be writing full reviews of. This list contains 5 movies, all of which I rated 3 – 3.5 feathers.

Black or White
Directed by Mike Binder
3.5 Feathers

This is about a little girl who has grown up with her maternal grandparents, but when her grandmother dies, her paternal grandma wants to take over the custody of her. I thought this was going to be one of those cute, fluffy feel-good films, because that’s what it looked like on the poster. So I was surprised at how “dark” this was, and it even contained some unsettling scenes. I guess it was better than 3.5 stars, but I lowered it a bit because it wasn’t what I expected.

November Rule
Directed by Mike Elliott

3 Feathers

In this one we follow Steve, who has this rule where he dumps every girlfriend in November, just in time for Christmas. But this time he ends up regretting his decision. I honestly don’t have very much to say about this – it’s one of those standard movies that aren’t bad, but aren’t that memorable either.

Autumn Dreams
Directed by Neill Fearnley
3.5 Feathers

Ben and Annie get spontaneously married when they’re young, but the marriage is annulled and they both continue on with their lives. However, 15 years later when they’re both about to get married to other people, it turns out that they’re still married after all. This is another one of those half-memorable feelgood films, but I liked this one better than November RuleAutumn Dreams is a very cosy, cheesy movie.

Concussion
Directed by Peter Landesman
3.5 Feathers

This is about dr. Bennet Omalu, who discovers a special type of brain damage that only happens to players of American football, due to repeated concussions. It’s based on a true story. I think I actually quite liked this film, it has a bit more substance than the other movies on this list. I also find it strange that no one had realised that the players’ problems were because of the force that their heads were exposed to before.

The Legend of Tarzan
Directed by David Yates

3.5 Feathers

As the title suggests, this is a reinterpretation of/sequel to Tarzan. It was really well made, it’s amazing what you can do with computer animations. Otherwise, I don’t have very much to say about this – it was a solid action/adventure movie.

Leave a Reply

