2017 · January · Reviews · University

Book Review: “Jane Eyre”, by Charlotte Brontë

Published in 2009 by Penguin | Originally Published in 1847 | Four Feathers

Summary:

This is about a girl called Jane (obviously), who grows up with her abusive aunt and cousins, and is later sent to boarding school. Basically, this follow Jane from her childhood through to her adult life as a governess and teacher.

Review:

I didn’t really know what to expect going into this. My friend loved it, but she read it for fun while I read it for class, and though I can like books I read for uni, I don’t usually fall head over heels in love with them. So I was surprised when I began reading this and found that it was surprisingly easy to get through. This was mostly due to the language – I didn’t find it as dense and obviously detailed as, for example, Dickens’ writing is. The detail in Jane Eyre is more subtle, and it’s going to be interesting to discuss it more in class. It feels like one of those books that will get better from discussing it.

My perhaps only “complaint” was that it felt a little bit too long at times. I had some idea of what would happen when I went into it, but when those things had actually happened, there was a third of the book left. So maybe that part could have been edited a little bit, but then again, it did offer some form of character development for Jane.

Overall, I really enjoyed this and think it would be a good starting point if you want to get into classics.

One thought on “Book Review: “Jane Eyre”, by Charlotte Brontë

Leave a Reply

