2017 · February · Films · Reviews

Film Review: “La La Land”

Directed by Damien Chazelle | 2016 | 3 feathers

Summary:

This is about Mia, an aspiring actress, and Sebastian, a pianist, who meet and fall in love.

Review:

You know, I was a bit disappointed in this. I had such high hopes for it, but then… I don’t want to say that it fell flat, but it didn’t live up to those expectations. I loved the musical format and I really wish that they would make more movies like that, but I found the story a bit strange – especially the ending. The end was so disappointing. I don’t want to spoil anything, but I just wish things had played out differently. They built it up as if it was supposed to go differently, but then it didn’t, and that’s what I didn’t like about it.

So I guess my opinion on this film goes two ways – I loved the music and that it’s a musical (someone said that “they don’t make movies like this anymore”, and that’s so true. I wish they did), but they story wasn’t entirely there for me. I wanted more from it, and when it didn’t quite live up to those expectations, it left me disappointed, which is such a shame considering how much I was looking forward to this.

Leave a Reply

