2017 · Lists · March · Tags

Run Away with the Circus Book Tag

As I’m still a little bit out of reviews and ideas at the moment, I thought I’d do another tag in the meantime! This time I’m doing the “Run Away with the Circus Book Tag”, which is inspired by Owlcrate, who have begun doing tags based on the themes of their boxes. I thought it seemed fun, so here’s my version of the tag!

  • Rings Master: Best Main Character

This is a bit cliché, but Hermione from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling is one of my favourite main characters, because she is smart and not ashamed of it. I also really like Karou from the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series by Laini Taylor.

  • Trapeze Artists: Favourite Friendship

Again, Karou and Zuzana from the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series. I love both of them as characters, and I love reading about their friendship.

  • Juggling: Best Love Triangle

Will, Tessa and Jem from the Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare, mainly because it’s not as cliché as many other love triangles I’ve read about.

  • The Big Top: Fantastic World Building

I just read The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, and even though it’s set in our world, it still seemed so vivid and magical, so I’ll go with this one.

  • Magician: Favourite Magic System

I’m not sure I have one, but I’m listening to The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss at the moment and I like how the magic system is set up and explained as something that would actually have a logical explanation (i.e. magic doesn’t just appear, you have to draw energy from something else). I also like how it’s something you can actually study at the university, and that it’s so much more than just “magic”.

  • Tight Rope Walking: A Book that Kept You on the Edge of your Seat

I can’t come up for a good answer for this, because I can’t really remember the last book I read that I just had to continue reading, but I’ll go with Heart of Darkness for this one even though I didn’t particularly like it. There are so many symbols in there that you keep on reading with a sense of doom.

  • Contortionist: Best Plot Twist

I think they mentioned We were Liars by E. Lockhart in the video, and I think I agree. I’ve read other books with good plot twists, but this is the best I can think of as of right now. I don’t think I can say too much about it, though, because of spoilers.

  • Human Cannonball: A Book with an Explosive Ending

Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman perhaps doesn’t have a super exciting ending, but it does end with the end of the world, so…

That’s it for this tag! I hope you enjoyed :). The original video can be found here.

 

Leave a Reply

