2017 · March · Reviews

Book Review: “Cinder”, by Marissa Meyer

Published in 2012 by Puffin | The Lunar Chronicles #1 | 2 feathers

*This review contains spoilers*

Summary from Goodreads:

A forbidden romance.
A deadly plague.
Earth’s fate hinges on one girl . . .

CINDER, a gifted mechanic in New Beijing, is also a cyborg. She’s reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s sudden illness. But when her life becomes entwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she finds herself at the centre of a violent struggle between the desires of an evil queen – and a dangerous temptation.

Cinder is caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal. Now she must uncover secrets about her mysterious past in order to protect Earth’s future.

This is not the fairytale you remember. But it’s one you won’t forget.

Review:

This was the second time I read this book, and I reread it because I’m including it in my BA essay. However, I’m sorry to say that I didn’t like it as much this time around. I just feel so frustrated about this book. This is due to Cinder in particular, because she is basically Artificial Intelligence and that is not discussed at all. Her brain is pretty much entirely made up of wires and electronics, but she acts as if it is not. The way she behaves is as if it’s only her skull or something that is made up of electronics, but I get the sense that it’s at least part of her brain as well. This means that she should not be behaving or thinking like a human being. Sure, she could cut pretty close if the people who made her into a cyborg did a good job of it, but shouldn’t there be something slightly off about her?

Also, considering how much of her brain is mechanical, shouldn’t she be immune to the Lunar bioelectricity thing? How can Cinder herself still have that power if she doesn’t even have her original brain anymore? This does not make sense.

After rereading this, I will probably not read the last two books in the series. I originally read this book in the summer of 2015, then I read Scarlet (book 2) in early 2016, and though I thought I would probably read the rest at some point, rereading Cinder killed it a bit for me. This book pissed me off a bit with the inconsistency of Cinder as a character.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “Cinder”, by Marissa Meyer

  1. I never thought about that Cinder should act less like a human than she does but when you mention it I realize your completely right! A really great review 🙂

Leave a Reply

