2017 · April · Reviews

Book Review: “The Name of the Wind”, by Patrick Rothfuss

Published in 2008 by Gollancz | Audiobook published in 2008 (I think) by Orion, read by Rupert Degas | The Kingkiller Chronicle, Day 1 | Five Feathers

Summary:

I’m of the opinion that the less you know about this book going into it, the better. But it’s about a travelling trouper turned orphaned thief and beggar turned notorious wizard. This is his story.

Review:

I loved this book so much. It’s easily one of the best books I’ve read this year so far, and I wouldn’t be surprised if it still holds that position by the end of the year. It might even have made it onto my list of favourite books ever. It’s that good.

It’s hard to pin down exactly what I liked about it, but the narrator had a lot to do with it. I think there are different people reading the American and British audiobooks, but this was the British one and it was so good. I’ve been listening to audiobooks for just over a year now and I think this is one of my favourites. It would almost be weird to read these books without listening to them on audiobook now, because the narrator has become such an integral part of it to me.

The characters had a lot to do with it as well. I ended up caring about what would happen to them, and it was sweet seeing how Bast actually cared about Kvothe, Nonetheless, neither of them is anyone I would like to end up in a fight with.

I’m writing this the same evening I finished it, and I haven’t fully collected my thoughts on it yet. I fully realise that I am adding to the hype right now, but let me say this: it had everything I could ever want from a high fantasy novel, and I would highly recommend it.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: “The Name of the Wind”, by Patrick Rothfuss

Leave a Reply

