2017 · Recommendations

Spring/Summer Reads

Now that May is here, summer is right around the corner, so I thought that I’d make a list of some books that I’d like to read this summer and then round it off by recommending a couple of books that I think would make perfect summer reads! First off is the list of books I’d like to read this summer.

  • The Inexplicable Logic of My Life, by Benjamin Alire Sàenz

I read Ari and Dante by the same author last year and liked it a lot, so when this was released earlier this year I knew I just had to read it. And summer is the perfect time for contemporary books!

  • Omens, by Kelley Armstrong

My friend read this a couple of years ago and loved it, and my copy has been standing on my shelf ever since. Since she read it during the summer, I sort of connect it to summer in my head, so I thought I’d try reading it this summer.

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses, by Sarah J. Maas

I’m super late to start reading this series, but I have the first book on my shelf. Last summer, I caught up on the Throne of Glass series, so I might make it into this year’s project to read this series.

  • Trollkarlens Hatt, by Tove Jansson

I love the Moomin books, so I felt that I needed to include one on this list.

I think that those are some of the top books I want to get around to this summer, but I also have some recommendations.

  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, by Benjamin Alire Sàenz

As I mentioned earlier, this was one of my favourites from last year, and since it’s a contemporary I think it’s perfect for summer 🙂 .

  • Since You’ve Been Gone, by Morgan Matson

I listened to this on audiobook last summer and was surprised by how much I liked it. I would definitely recommend the audiobook for this. It might also be a little bit more perfect for summer than Ari and Dante.

  • The Name of the Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss

Summer must be the best time of year to tackle those really long fantasy novels, and this is one of my most recent favourites. If you don’t feel like reading all several hundred pages on your own, the audiobook read by Rupert Degas is great.

That was it for today’s post! I can’t wait for summer to begin.

Leave a Reply

