2017 · Currently Reading · June

Currently Reading | June 2017

I was going to do a May Wrap-Up video and upload it to YouTube, but I haven’t had the opportunity to film lately and I also realised that I didn’t finish a single book in May, so there’s that. Instead, I decided to do a new Currently Reading-post with all the books I’m in the middle of and hoping to finish this month.

  • American Gods, by Neil Gaiman

If you’ve been around for a while, you’ll know that I started this around two months ago because I wanted to watch the TV show. Then Amazon wouldn’t let me because apparently it’s only available outside of the UK if you’re a UK resident on holiday even though they said it would be available all around the world. So I fell out of reading the book and I’m still only like a fourth of the way through it, but I am determined to finish it.

  • Strange the Dreamer, by Laini Taylor

I started this way back as well, just after its release, and I still haven’t finished it either. I have read around a third of it and I have enjoyed what I’ve read very much, but school got in the way. I will probably finish this before I finish American Gods, as this was (is?) one of my most anticipated books of the year.

  • The Wise Man’s Fear, by Patrick Rothfuss

This is more or less the only book I’ve been consistently reading for the past few weeks, as it is my current audiobook. It’s so easy to just plug in my headphones and start listening when I’m doing other things, so that’s probably why I’ve been more consistent in “reading” this lately. I’m liking it a lot so far, mainly because of Kvothe as a character. I’m thinking about writing a discussion post on this entire series once I’m finished, because there’s so much to say about it from a literary perspective. It might be a while until that’s up, though, as I’m only halfway through this so far and the audiobook is 42 hours long ^.^’

  • Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy, by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson, and Robin Wasserman

I picked this up on a whim the other day because I suddenly really felt like reading it and now I’m almost finished. I love that feeling when a book grabs you and pulls you in, and it’s been a while since that happened. This will probably be the one of the physical books that I finish first.

  • Lord of Shadows, by Cassandra Clare

I haven’t actually started this yet, but I plan on starting it as soon as possible. I’ve been trying to avoid spoilers, but from what I’ve been able to glean from cryptic tweets, it seems as if shit is about to go down. So I’m excited to dive in, and will hopefully get around to doing so soon!

That was everything for today. I will hopefully be able to go back to my ordinary posting schedule from now on, which I am really happy about 😀 !

Leave a Reply

