2017 · June · Reviews

Book Review: “Lord of Shadows”, by Cassandra Clare

Published in 2017 by Simon & Schuster | The Dark Artifices #2 | Four feathers

Summary:

This is the second book in the Dark Artifices series, so I’m not going to go into any detail on the plot because of spoilers.

Review:

I have a weird relationship with the Shadowhunter books. I loved The Infernal Devices, but didn’t really like The Mortal Instruments that much, so I was a bit hesitant about reading Lady Midnight last year. Then I ended up enjoying it, so I was excited to pick Lord of Shadows up when it was released. And, generally, I liked it. My favourite characters were Kit and Ty, and I love them and their relationship so much <3. The book in general was actually pretty funny at times, which I hadn’t expected. There were these instances when I would actually giggle out loud, so that’s a big plus. Also, I did not see that ending coming! I had seen some vague reviews on Twitter before I started reading and I knew shit was about to go down, but what actually ended up happening was nothing like what I had imagined.

What I didn’t like as much , though, is that most of the “shocking” action took place in the last 15 or 20 pages and LoS is 700 pages long. So I was waiting for this huge thing that everyone had been talking about to happen, and then it didn’t until the very end. I know it was probably intentional to leave off at a cliffhanger, and it’s not like there’s no action in the rest of the book, but to me it seemed a bit off to wait with the huge tear-dump until the very end. As it was, I sat waiting for it, and expected it to show up maybe 50 or 100 pages before it actually happened.

Let’s talk about Julian. I do not trust him, and I’m not sure I like him that much. He would literally do anything for the people he loves, and he doesn’t care who else he hurts in the process. He actually scares me a little bit, and it’s going to be interesting to see what happens to him in the last book in the series.

That was everything I had to say about Lord of Shadows! I’m pretty proud that I managed to finish it in the time that I did, considering the size of it. Also, I know I said in a recent post that I was going to get back to my ordinary posting schedule over the summer, but I didn’t post anything on Tuesday this week – I’m working on getting back into it, so hopefully I’ll be fully back soon 🙂 .

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “Lord of Shadows”, by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

