2017 · Favourites · Wrap-Ups

My Top 5 Favourite Books of the Year So Far

It’s hard to believe that it’s already the end of June! I haven’t read that much during the first half of the year, so I’m a bit behind on my reading challenge, but I’m hoping to fix that during the summer 🙂 . Anyway, here’s my annual list of the top five books I’ve read during the first half of the year. Usually, I don’t include rereads, but I’m going to do so now because I’ve reread a couple of books this year that I ended up liking more the second time around. And, as per usual, this list is in no particular order.

  • To the Bright Edge of the World, by Eowyn Ivey

I read this at the very beginning of the year, and liked it a lot. I especially liked the format – it’s told through letters and diary entries –  and I also liked reading about Alaska. It felt as if I got to explore it alongside the characters. If you want to know more of my thoughts on it, you can find my review here.

  • The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald

I first read this around three years ago, but I didn’t really see what was so special about it. Then I reread it for class earlier this year and loved it! It helped a lot to discuss it in class, because now I have a more full picture of all the little details. This is now one of my favourite classics, and if you want to know more of what I thought about it, you can find my review here.

  • Norse Mythology, by Neil Gaiman

I especially liked the humour in this, and how the gods would continually mess up and then ended up having to clean up after themselves. This is a very accessible retelling of the myths, so I would definitely recommend checking it out. My full review can be found here.

  • The Name of the Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss

I don’t think I like this as much now as I did when I first finished reading it, but I still like it better than the second book in the series. The narrator of the audiobook was great, and I liked Kvothe as a character because he’s smart and he knows it, but he also does some stupid shit sometimes. It had a lot of what I want from high fantasy novels. You can find my review here.

  • Strange the Dreamer, by Laini Taylor

I liked this book so much, and Lazlo is such a sweet character! This is possibly the first time I have ended up having a favourite chapter in a book. Laini Taylor is also good at making both sides of a conflict complex with their own motives – that’s something I appreciated about the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy as well. My review can be found here if you want to check it out 🙂 .

That was everything for today’s post! You can find last year’s half-year favourites-post here if you want to see which books I listed there. I hope y’all are having a nice summer so far – which are your favourite books that you’ve read so far this year?

Leave a Reply

