2017 · June · Reviews

Book Review: “Six of Crows”, by Leigh Bardugo

Published in 2015 by Henry Holt & Company | Six of Crows #1 | Five feathers

Summary from Goodreads:

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker has been offered wealth beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he’ll have to pull off a seemingly impossible heist:

Break into the notorious Ice Court
(a military stronghold that has never been breached)

Retrieve a hostage
(who could unleash magical havoc on the world)

Survive long enough to collect his reward
(and spend it)

Kaz needs a crew desperate enough to take on this suicide mission and dangerous enough to get the job done – and he knows exactly who: six of the deadliest outcasts the city has to offer. Together, they just might be unstoppable – if they don’t kill each other first.

Review:

I loved this book so much! The best thing was that I didn’t expect to like it as much as I did – I never expect books to live up to the hype. But this one did, and I’m very glad that it did. It was also unexpectedly funny, and I really enjoyed the banter between the characters. Nina ended up being my favourite of the bunch.

*Spoilers ahead*

The only thing I thought about was whether they actually had tanks in the 1800s (as this book seems to be set in a fantasy version of the Victorian era). After googling, I gathered that it seems as if they had. I also found it a bit strange that they managed to drive this tank through a wall that was supposed to be impenetrable. It didn’t seem fully realistic to me, but that was also the biggest “complaint” I had.

*End of spoilers*

I have read the first book in the Grisha trilogy, which is Leigh Bardugo’s other series. Though I didn’t dislike it, I didn’t love it either – it was one of those meh books that didn’t intrigue me enough to make me want to read the rest of the series. Six of Crows was much better, so if you’re only going to read one series by her, read this one.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: “Six of Crows”, by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Yay I’m so glad you loved it! I also didn’t expect to enjoy it as much as I did, and was so pleased when I did.

    I agree with you about the Grisha trilogy. But I read SOC first and loved it, so maybe that’s why the Grisha trilogy seemed a bit underwhelming? Cos it was her debut and all.
    Anyway. Six of Crows is amazing!!

Leave a Reply

