2017 · July · Reviews

Book Review: “The Inexplicable Logic of My Life”, by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Published in 2017 by Clarion Books | Five feathers

Summary from Goodreads:

The first day of senior year:

Everything is about to change. Until this moment, Sal has always been certain of his place with his adoptive gay father and their loving Mexican-American family. But now his own history unexpectedly haunts him, and life-altering events force him and his best friend, Samantha, to confront issues of faith, loss, and grief.

Suddenly Sal is throwing punches, questioning everything, and discovering that he no longer knows who he really is—but if Sal’s not who he thought he was, who is he?

Review:

If you’ve been around for a while, you’ll know that I loved this author’s other book Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, and I’m happy to say that I liked this a lot as well! My first thought after finishing it was that it was beautiful <3. I think that if you like John Green’s books, you’ll probably like this one too. It has the same feel to it and it does occasionally come across as a teensy bit pretentious, but that’s part of what I like about John Green’s books as well, so I guess it wasn’t entirely unexpected that I should like this too. What I enjoyed the most was the focus on friendship and family – it was amazing to see good friendships and family relationships presented alongside the ones that weren’t as good. I think that focus is a bit lacking in young adult literature as a whole, so it was great seeing it here.

There were a few questions that were left unanswered, though. I wanted to know who Sal’s biological father was, and I wanted to know if he ended up going to Columbia. I see that those plot points would probably have made the story even longer, but it would have been nice to have seen them answered as well. Also, I understand that people might question whether it is possible for so much shit to happen to such a small group of people, but I think it was handled well here, and to me, it wasn’t a problem.

As you will have noticed, I loved this <3. Maybe it just made its way onto a favourites list! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “The Inexplicable Logic of My Life”, by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

  1. I read Aristotle and Dante this year and I liked it a lot, so I’ll definitely read this new novel ! I think it’ll be soon published in France since his last book had a great success here 🙂
    And I just learned that Benjamin Alire Saenz is currently writing a sequel to Ari & Dante, that’s a great thing!

Leave a Reply

